Prague Process


This process is a new political process promoting migration partnerships among the participating states of the European Union, the Schengen Area, South Eastern and Eastern Europe and Central Asia, in addition to Turkey, which started with a ministerial conference in Prague 2009. ICMPD hosts the support team, which provides expertise in migration-related areas and organisational assistance to the leading states, which are the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. In December 2010, the Czech Republic handed over the leadership of the Process to Poland. The current Prague Process Work Plan can be downloaded here.

The Guiding Principles

The guiding principles are defined by the 'Building Migration Partnerships' Joint Declaration endorsed on a ministerial level by 49 states at the Prague Ministerial Conference in April 2009. The Republic of Belarus joined the BMP initiative in December 2010.


Prague Process Factsheet en ru
BMP Joint Declaration en ru
Action Plan 2012-2016 en ru