The Rabat Process  is intergovernmental.  Belgium,  Burkina Faso,  the European Commission, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Equatorial Guinea, France, Italy, Mali, Morocco, Portugal, Senegal and Spain are part of the Steering Committee (‘Comité de Pilotage’) of the Rabat Process. The other members of the Process are the following.

North Africa*: Algeria (observer) and Tunisia

Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon

West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Ivory Coast, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, and Togo

Europe: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom

Apart from the states listed above, the following international organisations participate in the Process as observers: African Development Bank, FAO, Frontex, ICMPD, ILO, IOM, UNDP, UNICEF, UNHCR, UNODC and the World Bank.

*Since the Rabat Process Ministerial Conference, held  in November 2014, Egypt and Libya are no longer members of the Rabat Process. The option to join the Process again remains open to them. 


Our Work in West Africa en fr

Dakar Strategy en

Rabat Process: 10 years anniversary publication 

Rome Programme 


This project is funded by the European Union