European Return and Reintegration Network (ERRIN)

Objective: ERRIN is a Member States-driven initiative facilitating return and reintegration through joint, knowledge-driven and innovative solutions, contributing to a common European approach.


Summary: ERRIN has a broad scope. It caters for a wide range of needs, covering the entire return process from pre-return to post-arrival in 17 countries around the world (to date). It acts as an ‘innovation hub’ for members to improve practices and efficiency of delivery.


Key activities:

Enable post-arrival and reintegration assistance after (voluntary and forced) return through a network of local service providers and partners

Provide solutions that facilitate the return and reintegration of vulnerable persons

Facilitate exchange to develop tools to improve pre-departure counselling

Explore innovative approaches to reintegration and evidence-based project development and implementation

Invest in knowledge to improve understanding of return dynamics


Donors: ERRIN is funded through the EU’s Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund (AMIF-Specific Actions). The initial budget is €27.1 million. The Dutch Repatriation and Departure Service (R&DS) manages this budget on behalf of DG HOME. Co-funding (10%) is provided by the members based on equal share of costs.


Implementing Agency: ICMPD is the implementing partner of the programme, providing expertise and administrative support. ERRIN activities are coordinated by the Brussels-based central Programme Management Unit (PMU). National migration agencies decide the agenda and the priorities. Each Member State is represented in the Management Board and Operational Committee of ERRIN. DG HOME and FRONTEX are also members.


Duration: 1 January 2018 – 30 June 2020. After the initial timeframe of 24 months, ERRIN will decide together with FRONTEX how best to pursue the activities.


Countries: 16 EU Member States and 2 Schengen-associated countries , participate in the ERRIN consortium, with membership open to any EU or Schengen-associated country.