EUROMED Migration IV

EUROMED Migration IV (EMM4: 2016-2019) is a programme funded by the European Union (EU) and implemented by the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD). It supports EU Member States and the European Neighbourhood Instrument Southern Partner Countries in establishing a comprehensive, constructive and operational dialogue and co-operation framework on migration, with a particular focus on reinforcing instruments and capacities to develop and implement evidence-based migration policies.

EMM4 builds upon the results of its first three phases (2004-2015) and tailors its activities around facilitating effective North-South and South-South regional dialogues and cooperation within the thematic areas identified in the Global Approach to Migration and Mobility (GAMM): legal migration, irregular migration, migration and development and international protection in addition to cross cutting topics such as migration governance and communication on migration. EMM4 supports sub-regional capacity building activities and targeted technical assistance to support the implementation of the Migration Governance Process at national level. These activities are implemented with a constant view to the cross cutting issue of reconnecting migration and knowledge. It aims to accumulate evidence-based knowledge, and establish effective communication, in order to contribute to a more balanced narrative on migration in the region.


EMM4 is inclusive in its approach and actively engages with a broad variety of stakeholders including government institutions, international organisations, local authorities and civil society representatives, academia, and the media in addition to the private sector and the general public in the implementation of its activities.



Euromed Migration IV articulates in three dimensions:

  1. Regional Dialogue and Co-operation
  2. Capacity-building
  3. Knowledge Management

These dimensions are inter-connected and supported through different activities such as:

  • Peer to peer events at the regional and sub-regional level
  • Mobilisation of technical expertise and organisation of study visits
  • Thematic studies on migration
  • Migration Media Award
  • Interactive Map on Migration (i.Map) website 
  • i.Map Migration Governance Traineeship 


In addition to the 28 EU Member States, the following South partner countries are participants of EUROMED Migration IV:

  • the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
  • the Arab Republic of Egypt
  • the State of Israel
  • the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • the Republic of Lebanon
  • the Palestinian Territories
  • the Kingdom of Morocco
  • the Republic of Tunisia