Prague Process

The Prague Process is a targeted migration dialogue promoting migration partnerships among the countries of the European Union, Schengen Area, Eastern Partnership, Western Balkans, Central Asia, Russia and Turkey. The Process originated from the EU financed project “Building Migration Partnerships”, and was launched at the 1st Prague Process Ministerial Conference (back then “Building Migration Partnerships”), culminating in the signature of the Prague Process Joint Declaration in April 2009.


The participating states thereby agreed to strengthen co-operation in migration management, following a comprehensive, balanced, pragmatic and operational approach, and respecting the rights and human dignity of migrants and their family members, as well as of refugees.


The Prague Process Action Plan 2012-2016, adopted during the 2nd Ministerial Conference in 2011, set out the following thematic areas for cooperation:

  • Preventing and fighting illegal migration;
  • Readmission, voluntary return and sustainable reintegration;
  • Legal migration with a special emphasis on labour migration;
  • Integration of legally residing migrants;
  • Migration, mobility and development;
  • Strengthening capacities in the area of asylum and international protection.

All six cooperation areas mirror the objectives of the Global Approach to Migration and Mobility (GAMM), being the overarching framework of the EU external migration and asylum policy. In 2015, an evaluation of the Prague Process Action Plan implementation concluded that the Prague Process had significantly contributed to enhancing international cooperation on migration in the region. 


The current phase of the Prague Process is shaped by the Bratislava Ministerial Declaration, endorsed at the 3rd Prague Process Ministerial Conference in September 2016. Confirming the validity of the Prague Process Action Plan, participating states provided the Process with a mandate for the period 2017-2021.

From 2012 to 2017, the “Prague Process Targeted Initiative (PP TI)” was implemented. This initiative was led by Poland together with Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Sweden. These states also took the lead of the various pilot projects and supported the Prague Process financially on an ad-hoc basis. 


In 2017, the single-state leadership of the Process was transformed into the collective leadership by the Strategic Group, which is currently composed of the Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, the ongoing EU Presidency, the European Commission and ICMPD, hosting the Prague Process Secretariat. In 2018, the Strategic Group will be chaired by the Czech Republic. The Senior Officials of all participating states continue to represent the decisive body of the Prague Process.


As of January 2018, the Prague Process is being implemented through the Prague Process: Dialogue, Analyses and training in Action (PP DATA) initiative, representing the Strand C of the Mobility Partnership Facility 2, for a period of 36 months.