News - Detail

ICMPD welcomes two new Member States at the Southern Borders of the EU

15 May 2018

With Malta and Turkey both joining ICMPD in May 2018 ICMPD is happy to welcome two new Member States. ICMPD has now 17 Member States all across Europe.

Malta and Turkey are both hosting ICMPD offices and staff in their respective countries and have already cooperated closely with ICMPD on a broad range of projects in different thematic areas for many years. Furthermore, both Turkey and Malta enjoy close cooperation with several countries in the priority regions defined by ICMPD in the "Strategy 2020".

ICMPD’s Director General Michael Spindelegger took the opportunity to welcome the two new member states at ICMPD’s last steering group meeting in Bucharest, Romania. “With Malta and Turkey joining ICMPD, we are proud to have two new partners that historically and geographically have always been at the forefront of migration movements and can look back on a vast experience. Their memberships will deepen our cooperation and help carry out significant projects in the regions and beyond.


Download Press Release on Malta here.

Download Press Release on Turkey here.