EUROMED Migration V

EUROMED Migration V (EMM5: 2020-2023) is a programme funded by the European Union (EU) and implemented by the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD). It supports EU Member States and the European Neighbourhood Instrument Southern Partner Countries (ENI SPCs)  in establishing a comprehensive, constructive and operational dialogue and co-operation framework on migration, with a particular focus on reinforcing instruments and capacities to develop and implement evidence-based migration policies.

EMM5 builds upon the results of its first four phases (2004-2020) and tailors its activities around facilitating effective North-South and South-South regional dialogues and cooperation within the thematic areas identified in the Global Approach to Migration and Mobility (GAMM): legal migration, irregular migration, migration and development and international protection in addition to cross cutting topics such as migration governance and communication on migration. 

EMM5 aims to foster rights-based migration governance systems by consolidating and expanding cooperation between European Neighbourhood Instrument South Partner Countries and European Union Member States (EU MS) as well as among ENI SPCs themselves.  It sets out to do so through three distinct yet complementary components, aligned and integrated to enhance and reinforce one another, namely: Dialogue, Knowledge and Communications.

The Dialogue and Cooperation component builds upon the consultations and momentum generated through the 16-year dialogue platform of EUROMED Migration, addressing the need to reinforce and improve cooperation between relevant stakeholders in the field of migration. The thematic priorities of the Dialogue component will be devised in consultation with participating states to ensure their relevance and added value. 

The Knowledge management and development component serves to inform the priorities identified through the Dialogue component in order to foster a sound evidence basis for further exchange. The accrued results will reinforce the knowledge and data improvement to serve the priorities of migration governance. The Knowledge component aims to provide stakeholders with a flexible tool to leverage migration research as a mean to consolidate evidence-based policy-making and, as a result, create an enabling environment for adequate and sustainable responses to identified migration issues.  

The Communications and Narrative on migration component aims to promote a balanced migration narrative in the Euro-Mediterranean region. Taking stock of the migration debate’s highly divisive nature, this component seeks to restore favourable conditions for pragmatic and cognisant policy choices. To this end, a range of influential stakeholders will be engaged, such as migration practitioners, communicators and journalists, to advocate for a more balanced and nuanced discussion on migration’s various realities. The Communications component will contribute to attenuate polarisation and generate an enabling environment for migration policy-making.

Together, these three components contribute to reinforcing the coherence, operational scope and resilience of cooperation on migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region as well as to enlarge the common base of national governance systems. As a result, through exchange and enhanced coordination, the potential for conflictual and/or inconsistent policy-making will be significantly reduced. Importantly, the capacity of ENI SPCs and EU MS to manage and address migration challenges, and the intersectionality between their roles as places of origin, transit and destination of migration will be enhanced. This will bring about an increased capacity to reap the benefits and social outcomes of people’s mobility throughout the region..


In addition to the 27 EU Member States, the following South partner countries are participants of EUROMED Migration V: 

  • the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
  • the Arab Republic of Egypt
  • the State of Israel
  • the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • the Republic of Lebanon
  • the Kingdom of Morocco
  • the Palestinian Territories[1]
  • the Syrian Arab Republic[2]
  • the Republic of Tunisia


This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue. [1] 

On hold - activities suspended in previous phases due to conflict [2]

This project is funded by the European Union